top of page
Provincial Nominee Programs
Canada Student Visa
Provincial Nominee Programs

The Provincial Nominee Program is a joint-program involving the provinces of Canada and the federal government, permitting provinces to design their own immigration programs and actively manage immigrant selection in accordance with provincial plans and priorities.

Applicants to all provincial nominee programs must meet federal admissibility criteria in order to enter Canada. Applicants seeking a provincial nomination from any one of the participating provinces must first ensure they meet the program criteria specific to that province, and make their applications in two parts:

  • first to the provincial program administration and

  • then to the federal government department responsible for immigrant selection.

​Once an applicant is nominated by a province or territory, he or she will be given a nomination certificate that is to be submitted with their application to the federal government for their Canadian permanent resident visa.

Each province may run multiple programs at different times during the year based on their goals and their labour market and economic needs. Program requirements vary widely and are subject to change at any time. Each applicant to those programs must intend to live in the province or territory they apply to.

The following Provinces are currently participating in the Provincial Nominee Program:

  • Alberta

  • British Columbia

  • Manitoba

  • New Brunswick

  • Newfoundland and Labrador

  • Northwest Territories

  • Nova Scotia

  • Ontario

  • Prince Edward Island

  • Saskatchewan

  • Yukon

To find out more about various provincial programs and to assess your qualifications, please contact us.

bottom of page